McAfee-Secured Website

ITIL certifications

Vendor: ITIL

Certification Overview

Organizations around the world are becoming overly dependent on IT services. As a result, the demand for ITIL certification has increased. The popularity of this certification is due to the fact that it includes best practices for IT Service Management. The ITIL certification includes concepts like change management, problem management and incident management. In other words, it lets smooth operation of business services despite the changes taking place in the organizations. This certification makes IT professionals and business managers be more customer focused. The ITIL certification is available in four levels: the foundation level, intermediate level, expert level and master level. Candidates can choose to appear in any level depending on their level of experience. The expert level and master level requires passing the previous level certification exams. ITIL books are the best guide for candidates wishing to appear in the ITIL certification exam. All relevant information regarding the exam can be found in these ITIL books.

Who need to do this certification?

The ITIL certification course is appropriate for all levels of professionals inside the IT organization. The following professionals will be benefited from this course:

  • Technical IT Professionals
  • Business Managers
  • IT Support Staff
  • Team Leaders
  • Project Managers
  • IT consultants
  • Business Developers
  • Business Process Owners
  • Change Manager
  • Problem Manager


ITIL certification allows professionals to measure and evaluate business performance. Professionals are able to find the real value of the services delivered. This certification gives emphasis to customer satisfaction. Professionals are able to handle changes in business service within the organization effectively. Changes are made with minimum affect on the current operation of the company. Professionals learn new ways to cope with the changing environment. They use various more effective methods for IT Service Management. The ITIL certified professionals eventually become part of a community that can provide expert advice and continuous support to these professionals. Better salary and better job opportunities are some of the upfront incentives of ITIL certification.

Associated Exams

Passing a written ITIL exam is necessary to become ITIL certified. For attending higher level certification exams, it is mandatory to pass the previous lower level certifications.


The ITIL credential doesn't have any prerequisite. Knowledge and experience in the ITIL framework will be an extra benefit. For attaining expert and master level certifications, minimum five years experience as Senior Manager is required.

Examination Overview

The ITIL Foundation certification allows candidates to have a general idea about the ITIL framework and how it contributes to enhancing the IT service quality of large companies. This course gives knowledge of the Service Lifecycle and its major elements. Candidates must understand the relationships between the various Lifecycle stages and different processes used. The Intermediate level certification has two modules: the Service Lifecycle module and the Service Capability module. This certification enables candidates to have deeper understanding of the ITIL framework and apply the concepts practically.

No exam is needed for the expert level ITIL certification. Credits from the first two certifications are combined. A total of 22 credits must be obtained in order to achieve the expert level certification. The expert level and the master level certification courses are aimed towards experienced senior managers.

Candidates can use a combination of several study methods in order to prepare for the exam. Classroom training by experienced consultants are extremely helpful. In the classroom, practical examples are given, exercises discussed and you can get continuous support from the instructor. For self study, ITIL books or ITIL v3 books are the most effective study tool. For ITIL foundation v3 exam, ITIL foundation books are available. ITIL foundation book or ITIL v3 foundation book contains elaborate discussions on the topics covered in the exam. Apart from the syllabus, an ITIL book or ITIL v3 book contains useful tips and suggestions for the actual exam. Practice tests included in these ITIL books are very helpful for the actual exam. The ITIL certification books are found in PDF and other downloadable forms also. The ITIL books pdf versions can be copied to the computer very easily. Basically, ITIL books download is a very convenient process and is a prime reason for candidates preferring soft version of the ITIL books to the hard versions.

Validity of Certification

The validity of the ITIL certification exam never expires. So attaining an ITIL certification is a lifetime achievement.

Expert Review

ITIL certification will help IT professionals to view the world of IT from a different and new perspective.

John Smith

Manager, Nouveau Solutions, London, UK