McAfee-Secured Website

ITIL Certification

Vendor: ITIL

Certification Overview

IT infrastructure library or ITIL certification is now becoming very popular because of the higher returns it is providing to its businesses. It looks upon managing business practices more efficiently and effectively. This results in savings of the business. The increased involvement of ITIL in the organizations has created demand for ITIL certified professionals to work along with the system. Thus, ITIL certified individuals are coming under the spotlight day by day.

There are three levels for the ITIL certification: ITIL foundation, ITIL practitioner and ITIL Service manager. There is also another ITIL certification known as ITIL v3.

Who needs this certification?

Individuals who want to work in managing the IT departments of reputed organizations need this certification.


Many reputed organizations are installing ITIL systems in their business. This is creating demands for ITIL certified professionals in the industry. There are plenty of jobs available for ITIL specialists in the industry.

Associated Exam

There is a single paper for each of the ITIL exams.


No prerequisites are required before appearing in the ITIL foundation level exam. The certification pathway shows that after completing the foundation exam one can appear for the practitioner exam and after completing both foundation and practitioner exam one can appear for the Service manager exam.

Exam Overview

The candidates before appearing in the examination must get adequate training from ITIL training centers. There are also plenty of resource materials which could be found online. ITIL PDFmaterials not only provide the candidates with guidelines for appearing in the main exam but also give plenty of additional questions to setup the mindset of the candidates.

The first exam is ITIL foundation exam which makes sure that the candidates have grasped the basic knowledge, terminology and processes used in ITIL management systems.

The second exam is ITIL practitioner exam and can be again sub-divided into 3 modules:

  • Release and control- deals with change management, release management and configuration management
  • Support and restore- deals with managing incidents, managing service desks and managing problems.
  • Agree and define- Service level management and financial management are dealt here in this section.

The practitioner level helps the candidates in gaining a little practical knowledge about the ITIL concepts that are being implemented at the organizations. The foundation level was only theory based but the practitioner level puts those theories into practice and hence the students could relate the theories to real life scenarios.

The third and the most complex part is the Service manager certification. It is also referred to as the master level certification. It involves the application and processes of ITIL mechanisms at all levels. The service managers have an idea about the components of providing service. They have to demonstrate their competencies on the following topics:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement

The 3rd version for ITIL is the ITIL v3. The pathway for achieving this certification involves completing the foundation certificate for service management. Then the candidates will have to complete either ITIL Service Lifecycle Modules or ITIL Service Capacity Modules. After completing these two modules the candidates complete Managing Across the lifecycle certification. Then they move on to complete the ITIL expert certification and finally complete an Advanced Service Management Professional diploma.

The foundation level course content is similar to ITIL foundation course. The service lifecycle modules are similar to that taught in the Service manager certification.

The service capacity modules are comprised of:

  • Planning, Protection and Optimization
  • Service offerings and agreements
  • Release, control and validation
  • Operational support and analysis

The managing across lifecycle usually looks to develop the skills and expertise that are required in the lifecycle practices across organization. It looks at some of the core and detailed concepts of service management. The different parameters for providing better services in an organization all form a part of the course content.

The IITL v3 Expert level expects the candidates to fully demonstrate the concepts that are learned during the previous levels. This is not easy because the exam is comprehensive and questions are made based on the entire syllabus.

This completes the certifications and the candidates are fully capable of demonstrating their proficiencies in ITIL management systems. They complete their diploma in Advanced Service Management Professional.

Validity of Certification

The ITIL certification does not need to be revalidated.

Expert Review

ITIL Certification has become an industry standard for managing Service across IT. ITIL systems have ensured quality in managing services, quality in providing operation and accuracy for handling customer databases. They have improved the business processes that have resulted in a reduction in costs.