McAfee-Secured Website

Getting ITIL v3 Foundation Certification

Certification: ITIL ITIL V3 Foundation - ITIL 2011 Foundation

Certification overview

ITIL qualification scheme is a certification that warrants knowledge and skills in Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). ITIL foundation sets best practices in information technology, acknowledging that businesses, public entities and other organizations are becoming more and more reliant on IT. The examination for ITIL certification candidates are administered by various accredited Examination Institutes.

There are four levels within the ITIL qualification scheme:

  • Foundation level
  • Intermediate level
  • Expert level
  • Master level

The Foundation level is the entry level to the ITIL qualification scheme. A candidate must know the fundamentals of ITIL in order to qualify for this level. Basic knowledge such as general concepts, problem diagnosis (e.g. looking into ITIL dump or ITIL v3 dumps) Every ITIL qualification has credit value equivalents. These credit values serve as prerequisites for succeeding certifications in the qualification scheme. Therefore, a candidate cannot advance to the Intermediate, Expert, and Master levels without first passing the ITIL Foundation qualification.

ITIL guidance is gaining more popularity every year and several entities have developed products that support the system called 'ITIL Philosophy'. There is a constant review cycle to keep ITIL up to international standards, its latest edition being publicized in July 2011. ITIL is also asligned with the IT Service Management Code of Practice or ISO/IEC 20000.

Who need to do this certification?

IT professionals who need a validation for basic understanding of ITIL principles are recommended to take the ITIL Foundation certification. Candidates who aim to attain ITIL Intermediate level, ITIL Expert level and ITIL Master level in the future must also take the ITIL Foundation level as it is the stepping stone to climb the hierarchical ladder of the ITIL qualification scheme.


ITIL certifications hold prestige and respect in the IT industry. As more and more enterprises depend on IT for operations, employers favor ITIL certified professionals to join their organizations in order to make the most of their system and further improve their service management.

Associated exams

There are no required exams for candidates for ITIL Foundation qualification. However, a candidate must pass of preceding levels of the qualification scheme before being qualified to take the succeeding exams.


For candidates for ITIL Foundation certification, going through a formal ITIL training is recommended, but not required. There are Accredited Training Organizations offering courses to prepare a candidate for ITIL certification. All ITIL syllabi are updated by The Official ITIL Accreditor.

Examination overview

Examinations are multiple choice and tests various levels of an IT professional's skills and knowledge in ITIL. For ITIL Foundation certification, a candidate is expected to be well-versed in service management, service lifecycle, key principles and models, and fundamental concepts (e.g. basic knowledge such as reviewing ITIL v3 dumps, ITIL dumps). Students must also have know-hows on selected processes, roles and functions, as well as on IT architecture.

Bloom's level 1 and 2 Taxonomy is used in the examination for ITIL Foundation certification. Candidates must be prove their understanding of basic ITIL ideas and demonstrate comprehension of practices.

As more IT professionals decide to take the ITIL foundation certification, more resources about the exams become available online. ITIL v3 Foundation exam dumps are becoming popular online as well as other ITIL exam dumps, ITIL Certification dumps. Various websites offering ITIL braindump or questions and answers to ITIL qualification exams, but candidates must think carefully before availing of these services.

However, learning does not stop once an IT professional gets his ITIL Foundation qualification. A certification holder may need further guidance before being skilled to implement the service management practices for actual settings.

Validity of certification

Other IT certifications require the holder to recertify or apply for a higher level of qualification under that scheme for the title to be valid. ITIL certifications have no expiration date; once qualified, an IT professional does not need to recertify again in order to hold the qualification.

Expert review

Ed Tittel and Earl Follis of Tom's IT Pro recognizes the respect given to ITIL qualifications in the industry. According to their review, professionals who are ITIL qualified have always been valued by companies and other entities that implements ITIL system. Aside from big organizations, a lot of small and medium scale businesses are also finding value in employing ITIL qualified professionals.

According to Ros Satar of T the ITSM Review, achieving ITIL certification gave him technical expertise that aided much in his role as a consultant. He believes that basic knowledge in ITIL gave him a wider understanding of the process which he did not get from reading books and from his basic background knowledge.