McAfee-Secured Website

CISSP Certification

Certification: ISC CISSP - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

Certification Overview

CISSP certification is gradually becoming a commanding certification in the field of networking security and Information technology. The exam is conducted by ISC2. The exam is showing the paths for achieving success in the higher grounds of industry. The increases cases of theft and hacking has been alarming for the top organizations and they are constantly on the search for quality professionals in the field of networking and security. This has led to an increase in the number of certifications offered in this field. However, CISSP certification has been able to find its mark by producing quality professionals.

Who needs this certification?

Individuals who have prior work experience in working for the Information technology sector must need this certification. This will make sure he has the ability to handle and solve complex tasks in the relevant field of action.


This certification is designed for individuals who have the hunger for success and want to go up higher in his career. The certification results in developing a wide range of competencies for the individual which makes his CV attractive to potential employers. This eventually ensures a successful career in the long run.

Associated Exam

The certification rules and regulations specify that candidates must appear for a single exam and get the number required to pass. After passing they would have to complete a paper on ISC2 ethics. After the completion of ethics paper they will be awarded the certificate.


Minimum five years of full time work experience is required before appearing for the examinations. The experience of working should be related to the 2-3 domains of the syllabus.

Exam Overview

A range of CISSP training facilities are available. There are 3 methods in which candidates may get adequate training.

The first method, online training programs are usually aimed at those candidates who wants to take a self-paced approach. CISSP online training programs provide candidates with lecture sheets in PDF; they also give CISSP video trainingfor covering the practical aspects of the program. The videos consist of lab demonstration and sometimes include expert lectures. The online training programs also allow the candidates to sit for model tests. These model tests make the students familiar with the question pattern as well as pointing them to their weak areas.

The second method involves teaching over classrooms. This is more commonly referred to as CISSP boot camps. The classes are conducted by ISC2 CISSP certified professionals. They are able to emulate the concepts of network securities within the candidates. The classes are interactive meaning the students could get a chance to participate in classroom discussions. The students make notes from lectures and are also provided with necessary lecture sheets for study. These training centers also provide adequate opportunities for appearing in the mock tests.

The third method involves inviting CISSP certified professionals in a convenient place to conduct lecture sessions. This method is very expensive. However, it is very effective for those who find it difficult to adapt to the pace of boot camps and online training programs inadequate.

The course can be divided into 10 areas known asdomains. They are outlined below:

  1. Access control
  2. Telecommunications and Networks security
  3. Information Security Governance with Risk Management
  4. Software development security
  5. Cryptography
  6. Security Architecture
  7. Security Operations planning
  8. Business continuity planning and disaster recovery planning
  9. Legal issues
  10. Physical Safety environment

The access control module provides an introduction to the rest of the syllabus.

Telecommunications and Networks security focuses on the infrastructure and mechanisms behind the security systems. The information security Governance and risk management deals policies facing governing the systems and processes for managing risk. Software development security section involves studying the related software that is in operation to implement processes.

Cryptography focuses on encrypting and decrypting information to hide it from foreign threats. Security architecture domain deals with the design and structure of equipment in use. Domain 7 is a measure of how security operations need to be devised and implemented in the organization. Business continuity planning looks at all the possible outcomes of continuing business in case of emergency or sudden failure. The next domain is entirely about laws, rules and regulations surrounding the IT arena. Lastly, Physical safety environment is about securing physical resources in the organization.

Validity of Certification

The certificate remains valid for 3 years. However, candidates must go through 40 credits of study and pay a certain fee for each of the 3 years in order to recertify.

Expert Review

The certification introduces successful network professionals with a wide range of educational materials, networking opportunities with employers and global IT scenario. They form a family. The individuals also gain the power, ability and expertise needed to exercise his influence on the organization.